Eight candidates have officially qualified for the April 18, 2017 Special Election for State Senate District 32. State Senate District 32 includes portions of East Cobb and Fulton counties. The State Senate seat was vacated by Judson Hill. Judson Hill resigned his seat to run for the U.S. House of Representatives- 6th District (Secretary of Health and Human Services Tim Price’s “old”  seat).

The Rotary Club of East Cobb and the EAST COBBER, will be co-hosting a non-partisan Candidates Forum for those running for the State Senate District 32 seat on Wednesday, April 12. The Forum will be held from 6 – 8:30pm at the East Cobb Library, 4880 Lower Roswell Road in Marietta/East Cobb 30068.  Donna Lowry, currently the Director of Communications for the Cobb County School District and a former WXIA reporter,  has agreed to moderate.

Five Republican candidates – Hamilton Beck, Matt Campbell, Roy Daniels, Kay Kirkpatrick, and Gus Makris – qualified for the race. Three Democratic candidates – Christine Triebsch, Exton Howard, and Bob Wiskind – also qualified for the race.

All of the above-named candidates were invited to attend. From 6-6:50pm, candidates will meet and greet attendees before the Forum begins. From 7-8:30pm, the format for this forum will include a one minute opening statement, one minute, 30 seconds to answer each question by each candidate and a one minute closing statement. Questions will be submitted in writing. Volunteers will be circulating before and during the forum collecting questions. The public is encouraged to attend and participate in this nonpartisan event.


For more information, contact Cynthia Rozzo, Publisher of the EAST COBBER at 770-640-7070 or email Cynthia@eastcobber.com.