By Angela Blackwell, East Cobb County Council of PTAs

The East Cobb County Council of PTAs (ECCC) recently honored the 2019 Teachers and Classified Employees of the Year from each of its 35 East Cobb schools at its annual celebratory brunch. This year’s brunch celebrated the dedicated educators who are a “Beacon of Light” to others. The “Beacon of Light” themed celebration was hosted by the Pope cluster of PTAs at Piedmont Church,and was organized by co-chairs Angela Blackwell and Joy Ettel.

The celebration featured the talents of students from various schools in the Pope cluster. Pope High School culinary students, under the direction of Chef Bradley Klink, planned, cooked and served a delicious brunch. Members of the Dodgen Middle School Orchestra Ensemble and Chorus Ensemble, under the direction of Mr. Christopher Whittington, performed and provided inspiration for the event. The Lassiter-Pope-Kell JR ROTC Color Guard, under the command of First Sergeant Lorenzo Cox, presented the colors and led attendees in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Finally, attendees were entertained by video dedications to each of the honorees. These videos, featuring students, teachers, parents and administrators, explained how each honoree is a “Beacon of Light” to others in their respective school communities. In addition, the event program, provided by Dart Direct Mail, included written dedications to each of the honorees.

In keeping with the “Beacon of Light” theme, décor for the event included antique lighthouses and lanterns from Queen of Hearts Antique Store. The event and honorees were captured on film by Joseph Gibson of Over Here Photography, who set up a photo booth so honorees would have remembrances of their time as teachers and employees of the year.

Gift baskets and gift cards were provided to each of the honorees, thanks to the generosity of the event sponsors, which included: Ivy Lane, Chicken Salad Chick, Blick Art Materials, Cobb EMC, Cobb Chamber, Lizard Thicket, Carither’s Flowers, The Magnolia Room, Lakeshore, Amy’s Hallmark, Marlow’s Tavern, David Douglas Diamonds and Jewelry, Half Price Books, Fat Lady Baker, Duck Donuts, Xdrenaline, Righteous Que, K Squared, Signature Gifts and Interiors, and Chick-fil-A Eastlake.

PTAs CELEBRATE TEACHERS OF THE YEAR AND CLASSIFIED EMPLOYEES OF THE YEAR 1The ECCC is thrilled and proud to showcase and honor our amazing educators.

Angela Blackwell is a lawyer turned homemaker and has lived in East Cobb with her husband and three daughters since 2015. Angela’s daughters attend Timber Ridge, Dodgen and Pope, and she enjoys volunteering at those schools as well as throughout the community.



Addison ES Kathy Matyus
Bells Ferry ES…Lynne Holland
Blackwell ES… Mandy Roberson
Brumby ES… Marie Gatz
Daniell MS… Stacy Meriaux
Davis ES… Marina Morris
Dickerson MS… Lauren Seckman
Dodgen MS… Sara Khosravi
East Cobb MS… Michelle Smith
East Side ES… Kristin Cronk
Garrison Mill ES… Mary-Kathryn Trichell
Hightower Trail MS… Ally Thackston
Keheley ES… Bill Glass
Kell HS… Crystelle Westhoff
Kincaid ES… Kim McMasters
Lassiter HS… Sara Basler
Mabry MS…Debbie Dempsey
McCleskey MS… Rebecca Slade
Mount Bethel ES… Cherie Vodopia
Mountain View ES… Teri Benoit
Murdock ES… Jennifer Gettys
Nicholson ES… Jill Colacicco
Pope HS… June Wilson
Powers Ferry ES… Ana Cristina Clinton
Rocky Mount ES… Lisa Dick
Sedalia Park ES… Rhonda Hester
Shallowford Falls ES… Moira McDonough
Simpson MS… Laura Shutt
Sope Creek ES… Nancy Crenshaw
Sprayberry HS… Beth Gibeaut
Timber Ridge ES… April Harris
Tritt ES… Suzanne Alea
Walton HS… Anilda Cook
Wheeler HS…Robert Marbach


Addison ES… Allison Gillenwater
Bells Ferry ES… Kimberly Sigsbee
Blackwell ES… Donna Gottesman
Brumby ES… Charlton Branche
Daniell MS…Jennifer Rabbitt
Davis ES… Michele Lowe
Dickerson MS… Jennifer Attard
Dodgen MS… Janie Smalley
East Cobb MS… Alissa Stanhope
East Side ES… Leslie Jones
Eastvalley ES… Alice Nanda
Garrison Mill ES… Janie Hutcherson
Hightower Trail MS… Julie Mann
Keheley ES… Beth Midkiff
Kell HS… Ryan Hill
Kincaid ES… Heather Reynolds
Lassiter HS… Hilary Minich
Mabry MS… Daniela Martucci
McCleskey MS… Regel Jackson
Mount Bethel ES… Brittany Fagan
Mountain View ES… Liza Gibbs
Mountain View ES (CCSD Art)… Maureen Armstrong
Murdock ES… Karen Lane
Nicholson ES… Luwanda Scott-Vaught
Pope HS…Dr. Krista Bowen
Powers Ferry ES… Christine Dunne
Rocky Mount ES… Diana Simmons
Sedalia Park ES… Brittany Carroll
Shallowford Falls ES… Jeannie Schuetze
Simpson MS… Jenny Murphy
Sope Creek ES… Ida Lowrie
Sprayberry HS… Shannon Shaw
Timber Ridge ES… Ammie McGinley
Tritt ES… Laura Cervi
Walton HS… Julie Brown
Wheeler HS… Marla Beasley