Cobb County’s election results have now been certified. The Cobb County Board of Elections held a meeting via teleconference on Thursday, August 19, certified the results, and then forwarded them to the office of the Georgia Secretary of State.

Cobb Board of Commissioners District 2 Republican candidate Fitz Johnson led Andy Smith 4,926 (50.4%) to 4,840 (49.6%). Fitz Johnson will face Democrat Jerica Richardson in November. The race will fill the seat vacated by incumbent Republican Bob Ott.

In the non-partisan race for State Court Judge for Post 6, Diana Simmons received 28,281 votes to Tina Griffiths at 26,763. Diana Simmons becomes judge-elect.

The nonpartisan judicial race for Cobb County Superior Court had a wider margin for the two candidates. Jason Marbutt received 30,831 votes, and Gregory “Greg” Shenton earned 24,409. Since the race is nonpartisan, Jason Marbutt will replace retiring Judge Stephen Schuster.

In the Democratic race for Clerk of Superior Court, Connie Taylor maintained a substantial lead over her opponent Nancy Syrop, at 18,270 to 10,834. Taylor will face incumbent Republican Rebecca Keaton in November.

In the Commission District 4 Democratic run-off, Monique Sheffield led her opponent Shelia Edwards 5,130 to 4,916. There is no Republican candidate, so Monique Sheffield is the presumptive incoming commissioner.

Out of the 518,276 eligible voters, 56,696 came out to vote in the runoff election held August 11.  That makes for a 10.93% turnout. The General Election will be held on November 3, 2020.

Voters are encouraged to vote by Absentee Ballot for the November 3, 2020 Election to avoid waiting in lines. Public health concerns will likely impact In-Person Voting availability and wait times may increase due to social distancing and sanitation requirements. For an Absentee Ballot Application or for more information on ballot return options, please visit the Absentee Voting page.

Beginning September 16, 2020 until November 3, 2020 at 7pm the  Ballot Drop Boxes (listed below) will be available 24/7 to return your November 3, 2020 Absentee Ballot.